GOP electors accused of fraud contributed nearly $14K to state candidates

By: - February 17, 2021 3:13 pm
hat saying vote with piles of cash money

Campaign cash (Getty Images creative)

Eight of 10 GOP stalwarts accused of fraudulently certifying former President Donald Trump as the winner of Wisconsin’s 10 electoral votes have contributed nearly $14,000 since 2015 to legislative and statewide candidates.

A complaint over the incident was filed with the Wisconsin Elections Commission by Paul Sickel, a director of the Service Employees International Union’s Wisconsin State Council. The union also asked Milwaukee County District Attorney John Chisholm to investigate the matter. The complaint accused the 10 Republicans of forgery and impersonating public officers, among other things, by creating and sending false documents to Congress and various state and federal officials in mid-December that claimed Trump had won Wisconsin. The goal was to persuade Congress to credit the wrong candidate when all of the electoral votes were tallied by Congress on Jan. 6, the complaint said.Here are the 10 individuals named in the complaint and their campaign contributions to legislative and statewide candidates between Jan. 1, 2015 and Oct. 19, 2020:

Andrew Hitt, of Madison, chairman of the state Republican Party and a lawyer with Michael, Best and Friedrich, $6,250. The top recipient of his contributions was former GOP Gov. Scott Walker, $3,250. He also gave $1,000 each to Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Brian Hagedorn and past Supreme Court candidate Michael Screnock.

Robert Spindell, of Milwaukee, a GOP appointee to the Wisconsin Elections Commission and an executive with Gottesman Co. in Milwaukee, $3,300. His top recipient was former GOP Rep. Jim Ott, of Mequon, $600. Spindell also made contributions ranging from $50 to $250 each to several Republican legislative candidates and Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Rebecca Bradley.

Bill Feehan, of La Crosse, chairman of the La Crosse County Republican Party, $2,575. The top recipient of Feehan’s contributions was GOP Sen. Julian Bradley, of Franklin, $1,000.

Scott Grabins, of Verona, chairman of the Dane County Republican Party, $730. His top recipient was Sen. Julian Bradley, of Franklin, $200.

Carol Brunner, of Franklin, vice chairwoman of Wisconsin’s 1st Congressional District Republican Party, $475. The top recipient of her contributions was GOP Rep. Ken Skowronski, of Franklin, $375.

Kelly Ruh, of De Pere, chairwoman of the 8th Congressional District Republican Party and a controller for Bay Industries in Green Bay, $250, which was a single contribution to past GOP Assembly candidate Dean Raasch.

Darryl Carlson, of Sheboygan, a former GOP Assembly candidate, $181, which was a single contribution to former Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Dan Kelly.

Pam Travis, of Neillsville, treasurer of the Wisconsin Federation of Republican Women, $100, which was a single contribution to former GOP Sen. Tom Tiffany.

Kathy Kiernen, chairwoman of the 5th Congressional District GOP, $0.

Mary Buestrin, of Mequon, a Republican National Committee member, $0.


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

Matt Rothschild
Matt Rothschild

Prior to joining the Democracy Campaign at the start of 2015, Matt worked at The Progressive magazine for 32 years. For most of those, he was the editor and publisher of The Progressive.